Link Building Packages from The Hoth – An Honest Review (Updated)

75
245

Link Building Packages from The HothAs a niche website builder, one of the necessary evils that I’ve had to deal with is building links. Getting good links pointing to your sites is essential if you want to rank in Google for the good keywords. Over the last couple of years, I’ve tried it all. White hat. Grey hat. Black hat. You name it. Some methods work better than others and some methods carry more risk. But the fact remains that even after the multitude of updates to it’s algorithm – Google still relies heavily on backlinks as a main factor in determining it’s search engine rankings.

This post will mostly consist of my honest review and my experience using The Hoth to buy link building packages.

Here is what I will cover…

  • the different types of Hoth link building packages available
  • my experience and opinions about The Hoth
  • my most recent purchase from The Hoth
    • the exact process and what to expect
    • my exact results with before & after screenshots
  • will I continue to use The Hoth?

Note: There are a bunch of links within this post that lead to The Hoth. All of these are affiliate links and I will receive a commission if you choose to buy your own link building package from The Hoth after clicking through via one of these links. Thanks in advance if you choose to buy through one of my links!

What is The Hoth and What Do They Offer?

In a nutshell, The Hoth is a link building service. Rather than me try to explain it to you in writing, I’ll embed a short video which explains exactly what The Hoth is and what they do.

Note: it seems this video was created before The Hoth had all of their current service offerings. When I first learned about The Hoth, they only built links by building out Web 2.0 properties. They still offer that service and do a fantastic job with it – but now they also offer links on higher authority domains (PBN-type links).

Web 2.0 Property Links

If you don’t know what web 2.0’s are, I highly suggest you read this post that Doug Cunnington wrote for my blog awhile back – How to Use Web 2.0 Properties for Free Backlinks. Doug went into great detail explaining exactly what these are and how to properly use them.

Yes – you can build these types of properties yourself for free and get links pointing back to your money sites. But it takes a lot of time and work just to build out these sites. The Hoth will do it all for you at a reasonable price. But they don’t stop there. Included in that price they will build out an entire network of tiers that help add juice to your links.

Tiered Link Building Structure

The HOTHThe Hoth does a ridiculously great job at building out these types of properties for you. Not only do they build them and link back to your site per your specific instructions – but they also build up these properties by sending hundreds of social signals and bookmarks that point back to the web 2.0 properties that they created. This is what is known as tiered link building.

They do all of this AND they document all of it and send you a detailed report when they are done. Not only do you get the report, but they also give you login info for the sites that they created so that you can make changes if you wish! I don’t know of any other link-building service that gives you the login information like The Hoth does.

These web 2.0-type links from The Hoth probably won’t shoot you to the top of the rankings by themselves. But they definitely help. I have personally used The Hoth for this type of package a couple of different times. These links didn’t shoot me to #1 for my keywords. But they helped move me in that direction and they really added some nice diversity to my backlink profiles on the sites that I had The Hoth link to.

High Authority PBN-Type Links

I spent far too much time in 2014 building out my own Private Blog Network (PBN), only to realize that it takes far too much time and work to maintain a PBN. Even if I paid VA’s to manage everything for me – owning hundreds or even thousands of PBN-type sites is NOT something I want as part of my website portfolio.

There is one thing I did learn though – these types of high authority links work! If you want to get a boost in the rankings fast, these are the types of links that you want. You can either wait around for natural links or put in a TON of work to try to attract total white hat links. Or you can build out your own PBN and point these powerful links straight to your money sites.

Building out your own PBN takes a little bit of know-how and you definitely need to learn some tricks. I certainly wouldn’t suggest this strategy for a beginner. If done wrong, you run the risk of getting your site penalized by Google which results in the exact opposite of what your goal is. PBN’s can be risky – but very rewarding if done correctly.

Hoth Blitz

The HOTH BlitzOr you can just pay The Hoth to place links on high authority sites like these that point back to your money sites. I don’t know how they do it or where they got access to so many sites – but The Hoth has access to literally thousands and thousands of high authority sites in pretty much any related niche. All of these sites resemble a typical PBN site and they already have content on them.

When you order the Blitz package from The Hoth – they simply place links (with your specified anchor text) on their sites and point them to your specified money site. These are permanent homepage links – meaning they will always be there and they will always be on the homepage.

The Hoth is so confident in these links that they even offer a 100% money back guarantee! This is not a subscription service either. Most other services I’ve seen that offer links this powerful require you to sign up for a paid monthly subscription.

Hoth Local

The Hoth also offers a service to help boost your local SEO rankings. I do not do local SEO and this is not a service offering that I have tried. Although I did briefly check it out and it seems top notch. If I were trying to rank a website for some local SEO search terms, I would seriously consider using Hoth Local.

My Latest Hoth Experience and Results

On January 31st – I decided to purchase a Hoth Blitz package. Previously, I had only used the regular Hoth service which built out the web 2.0-type properties for me. But I wanted to see just how effective these high DA links would be and how well they would work.

The Niche Site

Here is some background on the money site that I pointed links to for this experiment.

  • domain purchased and site started in June 2014
  • not built around one main keyword – instead I target several highly related keywords
  • informational site monetized with a few Amazon products
  • mostly informational posts with a few product review posts
  • used SocialADR to point social bookmarking links to posts after I published them
  • purchased a Hoth Platinum package (tiered links) in August 2014
  • manually pointed PBN links (maybe 10 or 15) to site over the next couple of months
  • did nothing at all with the site for the last several months of 2014 and the beginning of 2015

Purchasing a Hoth Blitz Package

I admit – I was really leery about making this purchase. I didn’t want to spend the money. But I’ve already experienced first hand how well these types of powerful links work. And I had already spent enough time and money on this site that I had to do something to boost it up in the rankings and start earning some money from it.

After carefully reading through the FAQ’s on the Hoth Blitz page, I decided to try the 5 link package for $250. Ordering was really easy. For each of the 5 links that I was about to purchase, I chose…

  • the general niche from a dropdown menu
  • the URL I wanted the link to point to
  • the exact anchor text (they call this the keyword in their form)

After that you choose when you want the links to be placed…

  • all at once
  • daily
  • every 3 days
  • or weekly

I chose daily – meaning that my links would all be placed one day apart from each other. I hit the ‘Confirm and Place Order’ button then received a message stating that my order would be completed no later than February 10th. Again, I placed this order on January 31st.

Receiving My 5 Hoth Blitz Links

Sure enough, on February 10th, I received an email from The Hoth stating – “Matthew You’ve Got Links!” Attached to that email was a spreadsheet which contained all of the information for my order. Everything I requested was in the spreadsheet along with the URL’s where my links were placed and the Moz Domain Authority for each domain.

I was impressed! I visited each site and verified my links. All 5 sites looked very much like the same type of PBN sites that I had previously built. The Domain Authority for the 5 respective sites was: 31.6, 28.5, 30.4, 28.9 and 29. All very nice metrics and I would have killed to get domains like these when I was building my own PBN sites!

The one thing that I was most leery about was the fact that all of these links are sidebar links instead of in-content links. I knew this before I made the purchase because I carefully read the entire FAQ page. When I previously linked from my own PBN sites, I always used in-content links. I wasn’t sure how effective these sidebar links would be. Honestly – I thought they looked a little suspicious. But The Hoth knows what they are doing – so I trust that they are safe.

My Results From These 5 High DA Links

The following screenshots are taken from my ProRankTracker.com account – where I track all of my keyword rankings. These are 9 of the main keywords that I am tracking for this site. Rankings fluctuate daily, usually by just a few positions. But for the most part, this first screenshot shows what my rankings looked like for most of the last several months.

PRT Rankings for Niche Site Day I purchased Hoth Blitz package
Google rankings on the day that I purchased the Hoth Blitz package.

This next screenshot shows what my rankings looked like exactly 20 days after I purchased The Hoth Blitz package (10 days after the order was completed).

PRT Rankings for Niche Site 20 Days after I purchased Hoth Blitz package
Google rankings 10 days after 5 links placed from Hoth Blitz package.

And this last screenshot shows what my rankings looked like exactly 28 days after I purchased The Hoth Blitz package (18 days after the order was completed).

PRT Rankings for Niche Site 28 Days after I purchased Hoth Blitz package
Google rankings 18 days after 5 links placed from Hoth Blitz package.

As you can see, my rankings did increase pretty much across the board for these 9 keywords that I am tracking. A few terms that were stuck on pages 3 and 4 of Google have moved up to pages 2 and 3. And those 2 terms in the middle of my screenshots with the higher search volumes (12,100 and 1,900) previously weren’t ranking in the top 100 at all and are now ranking on pages 6 and 7 of Google.

Traffic to this site has not increased yet as a result. None of the terms shot to page one of Google – so I didn’t really expect a traffic increase.

Will I Use The Hoth Again?

The short answer is yes. I will definitely be using The Hoth again. I obviously have some unfinished business with the site I shared above. One or two more Hoth Blitz purchases should easily get some of those terms rankings on page 1 of Google and then I’ll start earning some commissions from Amazon sales on that site.

Is it worth it to buy links from The Hoth?

If moving up in search engine rankings is the goal – then yes it is worth it. But return on investment (ROI) is what I am after. Will my site make money once it starts to get significant traffic? I am very confident that this site will be a winner. I base my confidence on my success with another Amazon niche site. This site is very similar but with a higher priced product. When I get to page one of Google for several of these search terms this site is absolutely going to be a winner. Which means to me that, yes – it will have been worth it to buy links from The Hoth.

The other reason that it is worth it is because buying links from The Hoth saves me a LOT of time and hassle. Sure, I could build these types of links myself. But I’m tired of that kind of hassle and I would rather spend my time doing things that I enjoy more. The people over at The Hoth are the experts when it comes to link building. So I’m happy to pay them once in awhile to do that task for me.

Update: 3 Months Later

3 Months later and yes – I have still been using The Hoth to build links to my sites. It is still a little pricey and I still don’t like spending the money. But I am seeing results. If only I were one of those super-rich make money on the internet gurus – then I would have seemingly unlimited funds to buy link packages and get my niche sites ranked. But I’m not – so I’ve had to limit myself. I originally published this post at the end of February, 2015. Here is what I have done since…

  • February I did not purchase any Hoth packages
  • March I purchased a Hoth Platinum package and pointed all of the links to a site other than the one shown in rankings screenshots in this post
  • April I purchased 2 Hoth Blitz packages (10 links total) – I pointed 5 of them to the site featured in the screenshots above and the rest to other sites

Results from the last 5 Hoth Blitz links

The following screenshot shows what my rankings look like now, exactly 3 months after the previous screenshot. I’ve done absolutely nothing to the site and have done zero link building other than this recent purchase of 5 Hoth Blitz links.

3 months later rankings Hoth Blitz links
Google rankings 3 months after previous screenshot and 1 month after buying 5 more Hoth Blitz links.

A couple of my terms made it to the first page of Google! Sweet! The one that is currently in position 7 is a good buyers term too.

What really excites me though is that term with the monster search volume (12k local and 18k global). I never really expected to rank high for that term, but threw up the article anyway just to see what would happen. 3 months ago I was ranking in position 54. Last week I was all the way up to #13, and I’m now back at 20. If I can get that term up towards the top of page one, I’ll start getting some serious traffic to this site.

Have I Seen Any ROI Yet?

Traffic is slowly starting to climb. Averaging 20 visitors per day now. I was at about 10 per day 3 months ago. And I finally made a few sales! I’ll show you a screenshot for this months sale…

May Earnings Report for Case Study site

As you can see, this particular site features some higher priced items. This is why I’m optimistic about the future ROI of this site. I’m thinking I just need one or two more Hoth Blitz packages (5 or 10 more links) to strongly secure several terms within the top ten search results in Google. Then traffic and sales will really start to flow!

One More Update

It only took me 3 months to update this post. And I plan to update it at least one more time. Make sure you’re on my email list if you’re not already and if you wish to be notified when I do another update. I need to hit the Update button now and sign off so I can go buy some more Hoth Blitz links!

Image Credits

“Iron link” by Andreas Levers via Flickr

  • Matt – thanks for the shoutout.

    I’ve found the HOTH to be a great service, too. The customer service is great & the results speak for themselves.

    • No problem Doug. Your stuff was completely relevant to this post and it wouldn’t have been complete without mentioning your past contributions.

  • Izaak

    Nice one Matt!

  • Sonja B

    Hi,

    Thank you for the insight!

    Please update what happens to the site – I am very curious about the ROI.

    • Okay Sonja. It will probably be a couple of months. But I know that if I spend $1,000 on link building pacakages, I should be able to earn that back within 3 or 4 months based on the price range of the products that this site features and the search volume of the keywords. Once I see success, I’m sure it will motivate me to do a follow-up post.

  • OnSynergy

    interesting post Matthew. I would enjoy a follow up post on this a month or two from now to see where you stand. I had good results with the hoth as well (although I went with the small package – the tiered link building). Now I am around spot 17 for my main keyword and I think the blitz might be what I need to take it to the first page…

    • Yeah – sound like a Blitz package might do you good. Glad to hear that you saw positive results with the regular Hoth package. I’ve heard about several others who have had good luck as well.

      I’ll definitely try to get an update post done after I hit page 1 for that site and start making money with it.

  • Avi Lang

    Nice post so just curious are you currently making money on this site that you are building links to? How does your calculating work for making this money back if your not making money from this site?

    Thank you

    • I’ve made only a few small sales with the site I featured in this post. Traffic is still only about 10 visitors per day. My calculations for future ROI are based on my success with a different Amazon niche site. I’m making over $300/month with a site that has average sales around $20 per item. Items on the site I talked about in this post sell for $30 to $200. When I get similar traffic numbers, my income from this site will be greater!

  • Great post, I’ll use it with my next niche site, since the main keyword is around #29. Well, how about your amazon FBA? Is it going great? See you next post. 🙂

    • Yeah Raweewan – if you’ve got money to spend, buying links from The Hoth is a wonderful time saver. FBA is still going well. My next income report should be out in a few days. Details will be there…

  • Hi Matthew. Great post. Curious…where most people would probably bail after not seeing top 10 results, why do you think you are continuing with their service? How long would you give them? 3-6 months?

    • Interesting question Mike. Why am I continuing after not seeing top 10 results? Because I know it takes time and I am not naive enough to think that just buying a few packages is enough to get me there. Link building is an ongoing process. I gladly pay The Hoth to do it for me in order to save time and not have to build links manually myself.

      How long will I give them? As long as it takes. No time limit. As long as I keep seeing results each time I purchase a Hoth package (meaning my rankings go up), I see no reason to not keep buying. It’s always hard to part with the money – but seeing results makes it worth it. For the site I shared in this post – I’m really hoping that just one or two more packages (5 or 10 more high DA links) will get me to page one for some of those search terms.

      • Hi Matthew, I 100% agree with your answer. You nailed it when you said ” It’s always hard to part with the money ” …that’s the “convincing job” I need to do with clients. Thanks much!

  • Charlie

    Hi Matt, Great post. Quick question. I know that with thehoth packages, they do build tier 2 links to those articles and that definitely helps. With the blitz, I don’t think they do that. Do you think we have to build tier 2 links to these hothblitz links ourselves to make it more effective?

    • Hi Charlie – No. We do not need to build any tiered links to the sites that The Hoth places our links on with the Blitz package. All of those domains already have tons of links pointing to them, which is how they have such good authority metrics. Besides, manually building more tiers of links would kind of defeat the purpose, wouldn’t it? I use The Hoth to save time. Not to create more work for myself. Good question though. Thanks!

  • Burt Reynolds

    Hey Matt, was each link you bought pointed to separate URL’s?

    • Yeah Burt Reynolds. Of those 5 Hoth Blitz links I bought, I pointed one to the homepage and one each to four different articles on the site.

  • Pingback: The Content Upgrade Strategy for Growing an Email List()

  • Eric Arrington

    Hey Matt thanks for the great updates and tips.

    I have one question, how worried are you that the HOTH links will be taken out in a future Google update? Is that risk offset by adding other quality links?

    Thanks, working on a massive site in a Spanish medical niche and needing a little boost.

    Eric

    • Good question Eric. I’m actually not worried at all that Hoth links will be taken out in a future Google update. The way that they build them, they appear to be natural. The tiered web 2.0’s that they build are on many different platforms and built with tons of different accounts. The higher powered Blitz links are placed on sites chosen out of a massive collection of what appears to be expired domains. When I looked at my Blitz links – I didn’t see any other niche sites linked to from the same site. I think they use each site only once and solely for each customer.

      They know what they are doing over at The Hoth and they’ve worked hard to build up a trustworthy service. My sites that have links from them were unaffected by the last few Google updates. So no – I’m not worried at all and I will continue to use The Hoth.

      For a better and further explanation – read this email that I got from The Hoth right after the Google PBN update (I copy & pasted it and published it here)… http://dumbpassiveincome.com/hoth-pbn-de-indexing/

  • I just bought a blitz package too with the same trepidation as you, glad to see it may well work!

    Quick question on the web 2.0s in the normal packages. Do you think there’s any need to login and add extra content to them?

    • I wouldn’t say there is a need to do that Dom. You could if you wanted to and it certainly wouldn’t hurt. I think the main benefit of having the login info for those sites is being able to edit or delete the anchor text if you need to.

      It’s funny you ask about this. Just 2 days ago I ordered up a “normal” Hoth Platinum package for a site that has been sitting stagnant on page 2 of Google for main keywords. Doing a test in order to share results with my readers. Can’t wait to share!

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for February 2015()

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for March 2015()

  • hey man, nice review, hoping you’ll do an update on this later in the year to let us know your updated rankings

    • Yeah – for sure Paul. I just bought another Hoth package but ordered all the links to point to a different site. Doing another experiment and definitely plan to share results.

  • Harry Bloom

    Hey Matthew, Great info and pretty much what I was looking for. I wonder if you know if you purchase another blitz pack, would your ratings increase further. I.e. Could you just purchase Blitz packages until you got to page 1, or does it not work that way?

    • Ideally it would work that way Harry. My only hesitation to do exactly that is that I prefer my link portfolio to have more diversity – meaning I want all different types of links pointing to my site. In content links, sidebar links, profile links, social bookmarking and sharing links, etc. If almost all links pointing back to my site were of the same type – that could look suspicious.

      I do plan to continue this experiment – but I dedicated the latest funds I invested at The Hoth to build links to one of my other sites. Kind of getting another Hoth case study going at the same time…

      • Any updates on how that is working out Matt?

        • Sure! Since publishing this post, I’ve done nothing else to that site and haven’t purchased any more links to point towards it. The rankings have increased very slightly across the board. One keyword even hit page one and stayed there for just a few days before dropping back to page 2 of Google.

          Last month, I used my Hoth links for a different site – but plan to purchase another batch of Hoth Blitz links today that will point to this site. When I get a bunch of these keywords to page 1 and start to see a bunch of sales, you better believe I will be publishing another update. 🙂

  • Great info Matthew. I’m no expert at this. Do I need to buy more packages depending on the degree of difficulty for ranking some keywords? I ask because I know that some terms are a cakewalk, while other terms are tough to rank on page one. What’s your opinion? Thanks.

    • Hi John – I can’t say for sure how many links you would need to get depending on the difficulty for your respective keywords. I would suggest starting slow, monitor results, and go from there. For example, you can see what happened for some of my keywords when I bought the Hoth Blitz package and pointed 5 high authority links at it. I let it sit for about a month and have seen only a slight improvement since – so just today I purchased another 5 Hoth Blitz links and pointed them at that site (with varying anchor text and to various internal pages as well as to the homepage). After those links go live, I’ll monitor the results again and determine whether I need to buy more. Hope this helps…

  • Pingback: Passive Income Report for April 2015()

  • Hey Matthew,

    when is the update coming? I just bought the ‘Mini’ package for $60 today for one of my niche sites to test the water.

    Hopefully I will see if it moves somewhat and then I’ll maybe buy a bigger package.

    • Planning on writing that update post real soon Philip… Don’t get your hopes up too much to see any significant movement with the Mini package. I’m finding that the high authority Blitz links are making the biggest difference and I’m seeing actual ranking increases because of them.

      • After the Mini package has been completed my posts are at least into the top hundred, actually hovering around spot 40.

        I’m hesitating to throw $250 for only five links, but I guess that’s what I need to do 🙂

        Some sellers on Forums offer more PBN links for that money but I’m not sure how risky that might be…

        • There definitely is risk whenever paying for links. I personally would be really hesitant to buy from sellers within forums. You never know who else they are selling to who will then be able to see your site and do who knows what. It is tempting though, to get those cheaper links…

          After buying another Hoth Blitz package for 5 links, a few of my keywords have been jumping in and out of the top 10. I know I promised an update. I’m waiting until the rankings stabilize and I might buy one more package to secure them into the top 10 first.

  • andhy

    How many articles on your niche site ?

    • Exactly 30 published articles on that particular niche site Andy. 7 of the articles are ‘product review’ posts and the rest are all informational.

  • Matt,
    May i know if this money site has its comparison table / main keyword placed in the homepage with 2,000 to 2,500 words on it ?

    • Comparison table – yes. At the bottom of the article. 2,338 words. Main keyword – the site is not built around one main keyword. Rather, the homepage article is written around one of the keywords that provides some of the best and most helpful information for potential buyers of the particular product. It is the keyword shown at the top in all of my screenshots (720 local searches and 1300 global).

      • the comparison table is at the bottom ? not middle nore after 5 lines of sentences from the top ?

  • Here is how i pick keywords / product to review for amazon .. hope this make sense ..

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for May 2015 - Dumb Passive Income()

  • Pingback: The Hoth Review - Best SEO Service Money Can Buy?()

  • jenn

    This is an impressive test. I like the honesty in sharing that you needed two or three packages. It was even more honest to talk about slowly increasing traffic. The story is believable. Thx

    • Thanks Jenn. It’s believable because it’s true! That’s what I do here. I don’t make stuff up.

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for July 2015()

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for May 2015 | Le Giang XYZ()

  • David

    Matthew,
    Should I be worried about getting penalized with the Hoth “Platinum” Package? It’s 48 in-content links I believe. My content is really good (50 pages @ 1,500 words). Does that even matter? lol The site is about 1.5 months old.
    Thanks,
    David

    • David – no, I would not worry about getting penalized. I’ve ordered the Platinum package myself for sites in very similar situations. Newer site with lots of great content on it already. But at the same time – don’t expect the Platinum package to make a difference in your rankings. Especially with such a new site. The only reason I would use a Platinum package these days is to build diversity into your backlink profile. The 48 in-content links that you will get with Platinum are very low quality links (meaning they are built on free blogging platforms). But The Hoth does a fantastic building out these sites and links and does an even better job at sending hundreds of social signals to those sites to make them appear real.

      If you want to use The Hoth to see actual movement in your rankings, consider using one of their Hoth Blitz packages. Although, I would probably wait until your site is at least 4 or 5 months old. There is this phenomenon these days called the ‘Google sandbox’ where Google doesn’t rank brand new sites for a period of time. After you get out of the sandbox (4 to 6 months usually), then start sending powerful links like Hoth Blitz links. Definitely okay to use Platinum now though to start establishing your backlink profile.

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for August 2015()

  • Hey matthew this was indeed very helps and really looks true , i hope it would be true… Any way but you are paying such huge amount to there service , i am a bit new in this field but i wana know why they are so costly ,, i can see same services offering in some forum for a bit low in price and ofcourse they are also good.

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for September 2015()

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for October 2015()

  • Matthew, thank you so much for this post. I have a demo with the on Monday and this has been very helpful. This year has been a big year with content marketing, but with out, ranking is almost impossible. I’ve been in the industry for years and building good, niche focused links is so important. I am excited to learn more!

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for November 2015 - Dumb Passive Income()

  • Hi Matthew, fantastic post…I expect nothing less from you of course ;)Anyway, I was just wondering if you have a more recent update now that we are nearly into the 3rd month of 2016?

    Also, I have been using The Hoth in the past, (mini for anchor diversity), but I was seriously considering their mammoth Mega package. However that is crazy expensive and was wondering if you had any thoughts about the Mega pack before I make the leap? Thanks in advance

    • Hi Harry. I do not have a more recent update as I have not really been building or purchasing any unnatural links lately. It’s been almost a year now since I’ve purchased any Hoth packages. Not because they don’t work or anything – just because I’ve moved to 100% white-hat link-building via outreach.

      My only thoughts on the crazy expensive mega pack is that it would be really cool if you went through one of my affiliate links before you purchased! haha j/k… It would be cool actually – but if somebody else out there is able to help you more than me – use their affiliate link.

  • Julie Sabin

    Matthew – when you say you have moved to 100% white hat link building via outreach, what do you mean by this and why did you make the move? Thanks!

    • Julie – 100% white hat means totally legit links from other real sites (no fake link building) that I get by doing outreach. Outreach meaning that I reach out to the owners of other sites that have relevant or similar content and try to get them to link to my content. You don’t have to pay for these types of links and you don’t have to manage a fake backlink profile or anything. You just ask for the link, maybe get it – maybe not – then don’t even think about it after that…

      I hope this answer was somewhat clear and helpful for you. Why did I change? Let me refer you to this post – http://dumbpassiveincome.com/thin-content-penalty-from-google/

      I still believe Hoth does a great job with what they provide and I would still trust them. I honestly just don’t like spending the money when I believe I can get better links for free. Outreach just takes more effort.

  • Sandren

    Matthew, do you think Hoth could be also used for not english language site? Or better to find different approach if niche is not “worldwide” oriented?
    Thanks for sharing you experince! it’s very usefull !

    • Sandren – I honestly have no idea how to answer your question. My thought is that it would probably work the same as for an english site – but I can’t tell you that with certainty. I would be cautious if I were you. Too many links from ‘english’ sites pointing to non-english sites could look suspicious.

  • Pingback: [Dumb] Passive Income Report for November 2015 - Smartass Investing Smartass Investing()

  • Matthew, I really appreciate the review and the information, because I have been considering using thehoth to buld links for BankCard POS. Thanks for the honest feedback.

  • Just curious… I don’t think I seen it mentioned in the post but how difficult were your keywords to rank? Like your long tail or semrush competitive score. Having that as a reference point would be really helpful! -cheers

    • Good question Ryan. I don’t think anybody has asked that about this post yet! This post was published well over a year ago and I don’t even own that niche site anymore…. So, I don’t recall the exact metrics. But I can tell you this. All of the sites I’ve built have typically targeted keywords with Long Tail Pro KC Scores under 30. I think I recall this niche having a few very low competition keywords (low to mid 20’s for KC) and that keyword with 12k monthly searches was probably in the low 30’s.

  • Reece Coleman

    Now it’s rumoured that Google is targeting PBN’s and I’d be worried about getting penalised with future updates. Think it might be OK to get a few links from them still, but I think I’d only go for one Blitz package per site, just in case. I know this is an old post but what do you think?

    • Hi Reece,

      You’re right. This is an older post. I actually wouldn’t purchase any of those Blitz links AT ALL anymore. They’re too risky and they look really spammy. The Hoth has a bunch of other great services that weren’t available back when I originally wrote this post. I would look into their other services. The Blitz links would be great IF they were in-content links that looked natural. But the way they place those links in the sidebar just doesn’t look natural at all and (I think) is a huge red flag.

      • Reece Coleman

        Fair enough. I was searching for reviews of Hoth services, so that’s how I found your post. Good to get your up to date opinion on it anyway 🙂